top of page

Heritage of suppressed women

Updated: May 14, 2021




Will you read this page ?

If I cry about my wasted years

Despite my young age

**

If I tell you about the orgasms that I faked

About that time when I nearly got raped

How my father used to hit me

Until I fainted

And all the trauma within me

**

The walls of traps that I’ve painted

In blue, for they wanted boys

In green, for all what this world destroys

In rainbow, for this life isn’t my choice

This life was forced down my throat like those tequila shots

The girl with the short dress dancing around bars

**

If I speak up about unhappy thoughts

How I hardly made peace with my skin

Marked with self doubt

And acne scars

Drowned in concealer and foundation

As subtly as they cover up for women segregation

**

How I beg my vocal chords to shout

For the words to come out

As I’m under pentobarbital sedation

And THC-stuffed cigars

Likewise my father’s honor-rage

Passed down to me like a heritage


**

How this bird keeps on returning

To the same old cage

Flying away isn’t something I could be learning

**

How it still hurts inside

To hide

In a 300 word poem

**

I look down at my wrist as I roam

How I bleed from within

All the inacceptance and the bad habits

That I’ve been begging you to release

All the discomfort and the unease

That shouldn’t describe a home

**

How I was told to count sheep

So I don’t have to think about therapy or healing

How I tuck myself to sleep

In a blanket of remorse

How I always expect to have it worse

**

How I like to think I’m never to feel loved

Because I’ve denied myself that feeling

Self-love doesn’t naturally come first

For those who are unable to count

And those who only drink to thirst.



Hassine Hadeel


Hadeel Hassine, a 23 year old Tunisian female, has discovered her passion for poetry and

writing briefly in the wake of Jasmin Spring, or so called the revolution.

She is currently proceeding her studies in dentistry, as a 3rd year student, in addition to

community work while carrying on with her writing and keeping her unpublished book under the pillow.


Contact hadeel : hadeel.hass7@gmail.com



59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page