top of page

Hurting is Healing



Weird poem title? You might wonder

Not the kind of words that go together

Waking up your unwanted feelings from their slumber

Denial instead of recognition,

And liberation sacrificed for permanent suffer

Pain, hurt, & trauma hidden under smile’s cover

Hurting is healing, how come? Seems like a stumper

Sounds like an intruder, a monster

But hear me out, & you will understand why later


Since ever I came to Tangier in 2018

My perception of time has changed

So, whenever someone calls or texts,

It feels like years and ages

There was this friend actually

Who recently picked up her phone and called me

She said she wanted to say hi and know how I was doing

So, I played along and asked her the same

Her answer surprisingly shocking came in the form of a question:

She said:

Why don’t positivity and optimism always work?

When your heart is shattered into pieces

& when all is left inside of you is hurt?

When your soul is sucked out of life?

When everyone and everything around hurts deep like a knife?

I took a moment and asked her to close her eyes and breathe

I know that deep down, your soul seethes


I will ask you to do the same – and trust the process

And it’s okay if you feel some sort of stress


I know some of you are telling themselves

Why should I trust a stranger reading her poem in front of me?

What if I close our eyes and she curses me or hypnotizes or kills me?

Hahha! As much the last thought is tempting but it is not likely to happen

Now, close your eyes, and follow the sound of my voice

Let’s start with this exercise:

Take a deep breath

So, INHALE [As much air as you can]

EXHALE [PAIN MISERY AGONY & DESPAIR]

I know it has been a while now since you came into terms

With what hurts you the most

I want to inhale and then exhale

Everything that is burdening you- stepping on your chest

& stealing the air from your lungs

Inhale & Exhale

Let’s liberate our hearts from the dust of hurt

Like autumn trees and birds changing feather

Let’s count to ten together

1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10

Now, all at once,

Say out loud

what’s burdening and burning your souls like hell

like a prisoner granted freedom, from his jail cell


I know at times when nobody is around

You feel

LONELY & UGLY

SAD & STUPID

WORTHLESS & TALENTLESS

You literally feel you are “NOBODY”

Just like a baby fish in the wide sea


& I know also even when you are surrounded by others

You keep replaying old worn-out tapes

You feel like a failure

You are your top enemy and hater

Bottling up all the rage and fear

Resentment, disappointment, and anger

Forcing yourself to be a people pleaser

Serving often as a peacekeeper, tension appeaser


I know it leaves you hanging like a rope

Believe me - it does not last forever

I know you heard the cliché sentence

“Everything is going to be fine

You’re telling yourself that it is just a lie

It is easily said than done

Well, they say actions speak louder than words

So, it is up to you to take those actions

So, here, try to answer the following question:

When was the last time you actually took a moment for yourself?

And bottled out everything hurting you?

Well, tonight I offer you that opportunity

ALLOW YOURSELF TO HURT

TO HURT DOES NOT REALLY HURT UNLESS YOU LET IT HURT


HERE WHAT I WANT YOU TO DO

When you are hurting – suffocating

It is okay not to be okay, Okay!!?

It is okay not to be okay, Okay?

Now repeat after me:

It is okay not to be okay


When you are hurting

Don’t hesitate to tell someone beloved to you: I am not fine

Tell them about all the sleepless nights

& the pain in your body and the ache in your spin


When you are hurting,

don’t bottle up, but allow yourself to cry

You might think that I am trying to make you feel down

That’s not true,

Because I know how much crying is soul-liberating

Plus, God has created tears for a reason – RELIEF


When you are hurting,

stop for a moment

And instead of ignoring what’s hurting you

Try to ask yourself:

WHAT HAVE I DONE? Or Where did it go wrong?

You are not obliged to fake it when you’re vulnerable acting you are strong


See, they keep telling us that we need to toughen up

If we want to move forward in life

But, what they failed to tell us is that pain is part life’s equation


They keep telling us that ignoring our pain is crucial

If we want glory and strive

But what they failed to show us how to find our way to liberation


See, I am just like you a human being full of imperfections

I am deemed to hurting and damnation

But I choose to use my spoken word poetry as my tool

Because after all Hurting is Healing


 

Author: Tlaytmass Saou

Email: tlaitsaou@gmail.com



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page