top of page

Says “Soul”



“Hey Moody,

It's been a while since I have last heard from you. Did you overcome what you've been through? The losses you had, a lover, a dear friend, a fake friend.

How is your recovery going? I've heard that you're feeling better, making projects and life plans you've never had the courage to go through. You've even started a new life abroad with a bunch of friends, living the American dream as they say. I am so happy for you Moody, but I am sure it cost you a lot of tears, bruises, and lung-burning cigarettes. "


Moody has always been a lost soul, going around here and there following the crowd. Moody wakes up at 8 am and sleeps at 8 pm. Moody was only acquainted with his dog, mother, father, and brother. Moody didn't like his colleagues at work but kept on smiling to their faces every day, although they saw him as kind and accepted him. In a world full of hypocrisy, Moody was the most talented actor out there. But mostly, he was the biggest actor, pretender, and liar of his own.


During Moody's daily smoking break that occurs regularly at 10 am, a long-haired, freckle-faced, red-headed girl, surprised him from behind:

" Hey you, a lighter?".

Moody gave her a side glance; her eyes were so full of life and she had such an aura that he just couldn't handle that he quickly looked away. As she was smoking, she didn't bother to lay her eyes on Moody, she was contemplating him as if he were a Van Gogh painting as if they were in a museum and only silence was covering the whole place.

As she finished smoking, Sasha ran her fingertips softly on Moody's face: his eyes were tired, his face was pale as an autumnal day and his shaken body was so obvious that even a numb person could feel.

She was touching each and every detail in his face as if it was the first time she noticed such handsomeness. She was mostly admiring his hair that gave her that summer breeze feeling as if they were on a sailing boat heading to the Maldives.


Sasha was a dreamer, a poetic spirit that sees love everywhere in life. She could spend days admiring the sea without speaking a word. Moody was mind blown by Sasha’s beauty that he peacefully gave up to her undeniable flame. Sasha grabbed Moody’s hand and ran to a garden where they both could hide.


As they took a long breath, Sasha expressed with grief:

" Moody,

Do you have any idea how long I've been looking for such a chance? I've been watching you for so long. You were my favorite series, but you didn't even notice my existence. I wanted for so long to unbreak the broken, to revive the dead, to see you smile from the bottom of your heart even once but I couldn't. I couldn't catch your attention. I tried my best, I whispered to you while you were sleeping. I tried to be part of your dreams. I asked you to leave them and run to me, but you didn't Moody. Can I know why? Can I know why all you’ve ever heard or seen was them and not me? Their talks, their toxic ideas about life and love, and not me? The way they look at you Moody, is it the same way I am admiring you now?

Who are they, Moody? Are they the ones that caught you crying on your pillow because of a wounded heart? Were they there when your mother gave birth to you and I was the first who smiled at you and took you by the hand? Look at me Moody, speak to me and tell me how much you appreciate my existence!”



As Moody was looking at Sasha's innocent face he wiped her tears, lay down on the floor, closed his eyes and the words started flowing from his mouth as a flowing river:

" You...

You will never know how much courage it took me to appear that calm and collected... I tried to not be a copy but I couldn't resist their negative and toxic existence. I am no longer creative, passionate about life, or even alive. I feel like I am losing my colors like I am fading. There are days during which I can't even look at my face in the mirror, during which I feel forgotten. However, I prefer to stay surrounded by them, I don't enjoy my own company as I am sure my thoughts would end up killing me... You know Sasha when your aura crossed my way I felt like that missing part is back... From the moment I felt your presence, your irresistible energy has awakened my deepest strengths and desires.."


Sasha smiled, got close to Moody, and started hugging him as a mother hugs her child. She let herself be taken by the moment of that nostalgic reunion as she gathered her strength and confidently let her words flow:

" That's why I came Moody...

I am here to heal you...

I am here to release you...

I am that missing piece you've lost...

I am the one who cares about you the most...

I've seen your laughter...

Your tears...

I've carried your worries for years...

Be with them, my dear...

But never forget that I am here...

I am your colors...Your art...

Even when you tear me apart...

I got up from ruins to cheer you up...

I promised since always to not give up...

On what has God linked to me...

Loyal to you I’ll always be...

I am your colors...

Your fire...

Your flame...

Your childhood memories...

The paintings you once have made...

The guitar you're refusing to play...

The words you never had the courage to say...

Hold my hand Moody and never let go..

Hold my hand and I will guide...

Your Soul.. "


Editor: Eya Brik





41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page